Login to download the latest version of Mint and your favorite Pepper, purchase additional licenses, or post in the Forum. Don't have an account? Create one!

In Partnership with Media Temple

Mint Forum

Mint issues no longer being addressed?

I’ve been using Mint for over five years now and have always found it, on balance to be the best stats solution available. I’ve occasionally had issues with it, mainly when I updated Mint and/or one of these components, but these have, on the whole, been responsibly addressed by the developer of Mint itself or those of its various Pepper add-ons.

A few days ago, Mint stopped tracking visits altogether, for no apparent reason. I was still running Mint 2.18 and some of my Pepper was out of date, so I figured updating would maybe fix the issue, but it didn’t.

I sent a contact form support request to the developer but no reply has been received as of writing this post.

Testing my Mint install eventually seemed to establish that the scripts were running fine, on two different setups (one for mobile, one for desktop browsers), but that there might be issues with my Mint database that resulted in Mint no longer being able to write to it.

I tried repairing the database, to no avail.

Eventually, after saving backups of my five-year old records, I uninstalled and reinstalled Mint with a new database and just the ‘official’ Pepper installed.

Mint was now working again, albeit with past records seemingly no longer usable (importing the data from my previous database would break the fresh install again).